IDA YLP Webinar: Leading Edge Research in Desalination and Water Reuse

Join Professor Isabel Escobar, University of Toledo, on Tuesday January 20th, 2015, to hear about industry research requirements and the future of desalination research for the optimization of energy usage and to minimize waste:

  • 8 am PDT (Los Angeles)
  • 11 am EDT (Boston)
  • 4 pm BST (London)
  • 7 pm AST (Riyadh)
  • 11.59pm SGT (Singapore)

 

In water scarce regions, two sources of water are normally available: sewage and seawater. Desalination has now been practiced on a large scale for several decades, and in recent decades, membrane desalination has enjoyed tremendous success. Through continual improvements, the major technologies are now efficient and reliable. On the other hand, water reclamation, recycling, and reuse address depleted water supply challenges by creating new sources of high-quality water supplies. Desalination and water reuse are still faced with many challenges. There is a need for holistic, system-wide design of desalination and water reuse plants and processes. In particular, plants and processes should be optimized and integrated to minimize waste, recover byproducts, and minimize energy consumption.

Isabel Escobar is a Professor in the Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering at the University of Toledo, Ohio. Dr. Escobar’s research focuses on developing and/or improving polymeric membrane materials for water treatment and water reuse operations. Among her current projects is work on (1) low-fouling membranes using temperature-sensitive polymers activated using superparamagnetic iron nanoparticles; (2) anti-biofouling membranes; (3) biofouling mechanisms; (4) nanoparticle fouling mechanisms; (5) polybenzoimidizole forward osmosis membranes; and (6) biomimetic membranes. Isabel Escobar is highly awarded including the 2009 Northwest Ohio YWCA Milestone Award for Education, The University of Toledo College of Engineering Outstanding Teacher Award, and the Toledo 20 Under 40 Leadership award. In 2013, she was chosen to become the Editor-In-Chief of the International Desalination Association (IDA) Journal of Desalination & Water Reuse.

Asking Questions:

To ask questions during the live webinar, simply click on the “YouTube” button in the video box above. This will open the video pane in YouTube. Below this you will see room for making comments on the video. You can ask your question by typing in this box. The webinar chair will direct your question to the speaker on your behalf.