Blog

IDA YLP Networking Event at EDS a Success

The IDA YLP hosted a successful networking event on May 26, 2016, at the European Desalination Society’s (EDS) Desalination for the Environment conference in Rome, Italy…

Read more

IDA YLP Webinar: The IDA YLP Hosted a Webinar Featuring Dr. Jim Birkett, Past IDA President, on The History of Desalination

IDA YLP Webinar: The IDA YLP Hosted a Webinar Featuring Dr. Jim Birkett, Past IDA President, on The History of Desalination

Matan Beery The IDA YLP hosted a webinar titled The History of Desalination, featuring Dr. Jim Birkett, on June 14, 2016. Dr. Birkett covered the development of desalination technology over the last milennium, from the boilers and sponges on Greek ships, to the industrialization and commercialization of […]

Read more

IDA International Conference on Water Reuse and Recycling, Sept 25-27, Nice, France

Detailed information on Call for Papers, Program Outline and more available.  Please click here to view.

Read more

IDA YLP Attending EDS Desalination for the Environment Conference, May 22-26, 2016, Booth #47

To learn more about the Desalination for the Environment:  Clean Water and Energy Conference, please click here.

Read more

Young Leaders Event a Success at Membrane Technology Conference

IDA YLP teamed up with the AWWA and AMTA Young Professional groups to host a networking reception at the recent MTC16 Conference, San Antonio, TX, Feb 1-4…

Read more

YLP Webinar: Membrane and Mechanical Desalination in the Oil and Gas Industry

Join Dr. John Walsh, Director of Technical Water at CETCO Energy Services, on Wednesday June 12th, 2015, to hear about application of membrane and mechanical desalination in the oil and gas industry: 7 am PDT (Los Angeles) 9 am CST (Houston) 10 am EDT (Boston) 3 pm […]

Read more

Nomination Period Now Open for 2015-2017 Young Leaders Program Committee

The nomination period is open for individuals who wish to seek election for the 2015-2017 Young Leaders Program Committee (YLPC) members. The nomination period began April 20, 2015 and ends on June 8, 2015. The new YLPC will assume office on September 3rd at the conclusion of […]

Read more

IDA YLP Webinar: Leading Edge Research in Desalination and Water Reuse

Join Professor Isabel Escobar, University of Toledo, on Tuesday January 20th, 2015, to hear about industry research requirements and the future of desalination research for the optimization of energy usage and to minimize waste: 8 am PDT (Los Angeles) 11 am EDT (Boston) 4 pm BST (London) […]

Read more

A Webinar on Water Sustainability in Arid Regions

November 3rd 2014 (Monday). Register now!

Read more

How fast will direct potable reuse grow?

How fast will direct potable reuse grow?

by Ronan K. McGovern Yesterday, an article in D&WR by GHD engineers was brought to my attention where they compared the costs of seawater desalination, direct potable reuse, indirect potable reuse and a dual-pipe water reuse system. Their conclusion was that direct potable reuse and a dual-pipe system […]

Read more

YLP Webinar: Optimizing Forward Osmosis Applications

Join Dr Nathan Hancock, Senior Director of R&D at Oasys Water, on Wednesday, September 17th, 2014, to hear about the future of forward osmosis: 8 am PDT (Los Angeles) 11 am EDT (Boston) 4 pm BST (London) 6 pm AST (Riyadh) 11 pm SGT (Singapore) You can […]

Read more

Why RO membranes are 10 times better than in 1978

Why RO membranes are 10 times better than in 1978

by Ronan K. McGovern In last month’s blog we took a look at the permeability of a wide set of RO membranes on the market to salt and to water. I argued that perhaps the best performance metric for RO membranes was therefore the ratio of these permeabilities. This week I want […]

Read more

A metric for quantifying reverse osmosis membrane performance

by Ronan K. McGovern Inspired by the thinking of Randy Truby and Jim Birkett to find a single figure of merit for seawater RO membranes, I thought I’d see if I could compare the performance of a selection of membranes currently on the market. To begin I plotted […]

Read more
Page 3 of 41234